Journalism Students Receive High Honors

Journalism Students Receive High Honors
Posted on 2014/10/31

November 2014

by Ms. Melanie Allen 

Tempe, AZ – October 27, 2014 The Arizona Interscholastic Press Association (AIPA) celebrated their annual State Journalism Fall Convention at ASU’s Main Campus coordinated by Melanie Allen, fall convention coordinator.

The day featured opening speaker Retha Hill of ASU’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications, various session offerings for advisers and students, keynote speaker Bruce St. James of KTAR and contest awards in media, yearbook and newspaper.

Moon Valley newspaper students walked away with “superior”, “excellent” and “honorable mention” awards from the contest. Sophomore Rebeca Castro won “superior” for her news story “Moon faculty, staff adapt to new math curriculum," Junior Fatuma Haji won “excellent” for her feature story “Holocaust survivor relives her experience with students” and for her entertainment page design, Sophomore Tania Gewargis won “excellent” for her news/feature in-depth story “Principal takes new position at district office”, Sophomore Samantha DeLeon won “honorable mention” for her sports story “Sports teams gear up with various summer program," Sophomore Yahya Alalag won “honorable mention” for his sports story “Girls JV basketball season finishes with an undefeated season,” Sophomore Dylan Thomas won “honorable mention” for her sports photo “Varsity players compete in wrestling tournament” and Senior Amanda Ashinoff won “honorable mention” for her photo “Clubs, sports show future Rockets the ropes” and her page design “Ain’t no party like a Gatsby party.”

The event brought in over 30 speakers, 600 students and 40 advisers from around the state of Arizona.